Kyushu University>About us>Organization


Kyushu University has recently reformed its overall organization of undergraduate and graduate education program. As part of this reorganization, the University has introduced a new Graduate School/Graduate Faculty system - the first attempt of this kind at a university in Japan. By separating the former Graduate School into a Graduate School (education body) and Graduate Faculty (research body to which faculty members belong), the University is seeking to revitalize relationships between the Graduate Faculty and Graduate School, and Graduate Faculty and Undergraduate School. It is also hoped that these changes will promote more dynamic functioning of the Graduate Faculty in relation to the Graduate and Undergraduate Schools.

All members of teaching staff of the agricultural research and education department now belong to the Faculty of Agriculture, all undergraduate students belong to the School of Agriculture, and all Master’s and Doctor’s course students belong to the Graduate School of Bioresource and Bioenvironmental Sciences.

In addition, a numbers of institutes in Kyushu University, but independent from the Faculty of Agriculture, have also merged with the Graduate School of Bioresource and Bioenvironmental Sciences; namely, the Biotron Institute, the Institute of Tropical Agriculture (in part), and the Bio-Architecture Center.

Biotron Institute

Institute of Tropical Agriculture

Bio-Architecture Center

The Graduate School of Bioresource and Bioenvironmental Sciences consists of 5 departments, each of which comprises 2 to 6 divisions including over 60 laboratories (listed below) covering various fields of agriculture, forestry, fishery, animal science, and agricultural economics.

Page Top